4 Days In

I guess it’s update time!

Homeschooling – So far, so good.  It’s a process.  I’m not going to lie and say it’s going absolutely fabulous and we’re loving every minute, but it’s not anywhere near bad.  We’re using a online curriculum provided by Easy Peasy All-In-One Homeschool and mostly it’s just growing pains, learning what’s going to work for us, figuring out our schedule, etc.  We’ll get there, I have no doubt.  Some of the highlights so far have been having my son start his school day by reading a chapter of the Bible, creating a timeline comparing events in Ancient Egypt and the Bible, and a very surprising and well written poem by my favorite 10 year old.

img1452222769695

Whole30 Day 1, Monday – Journal Entry:  6:30am – Woke up early, excited to get started, and with a raging headache (probably from the wine & sugar last night).  I was STARVING (I think I skipped dinner last night), but waiting on hubs so we can make breakfast! Weighed yesterday, took measurements and photos today.  Let’s do this!
8:45pm – Great day.  Besides the headache (finally had to take Advil so I could drive).  Neither hunger nor cravings really at all today.  But I know it’s just the beginning.  Even though I ate dinner at 6:30pm, I’m starting to feel a little hungry, so I’m planning to brew some hot tea and head upstairs to bed to write my blog post as soon as RiDogg gets home from rehearsal.

img1452223841339Breakfast: Eggs, Aidell’s Chicken & Apple Sausage & Sweet Potato Hasbrowns with peppers & onions (they were good, ate them up before I remembered to take a photo!)  And BLACK coffee for, I think, the first time in my life!  It wasn’t bad at all!  I could totally do this every day, no problem!
Lunch:  Chicken Waldorf Salad over baby spinach (made with homemade Whole30 mayo, grapes, celery, dill, and chopped walnuts)
Dinner:  Beef Stew  – my son ate before we did because he had to get to theatre rehearsal, and with a mouth full he says, “Oh, you’re gonna love this!”.  It was really tasty!

Whole 3 Day 2, Tuesday – Journal Entry:  (I feel it’s necessary to be completely up front and honest here, which requires getting personal.  Sorry.)  I started my period at 6am, so I slept in until 7:30am when I had to be awakened, which is weird.  I was hungry, tummy was a little queasy during breakfast but I persevered, and about an hour later I have been hungry again.  Black coffee didn’t taste as good as yesterday, hopefully just because it was made differently?  Now, at 10:45, besides being hungry, and a little tired, I’m feeling pretty good.  No headache like I’ve had for the past 2 weeks!
Overall, another great day!  Not at all the ‘hangover’ I was expecting.  Making me a little scared for tomorrow!

img1452224011607

Breakfast: Eggs, Aidell’s Chicken & Apple Sausage & Sweet Potato Hasbrowns with peppers & onions  And BLACK coffee, again!
Lunch:  Chicken Waldorf Salad over baby spinach (leftovers rock!)
Dinner:  Whole30 recipe for Italian chicken, found in their PDF download from Audible, with zoodles and Market Pantry pasta sauce #whole30compliant  (my 10 year old son, AGAIN, cleaned his plate with a smile!)

Whole30 Day 3, Wednesday – I didn’t journal today, but I summarize it in day 4!

img1452224102090

Breakfast: Eggs, compliant bacon (I forget what brand) with peppers & onions and half an avocado  And BLACK coffee, again!
Lunch:  Grilled chicken Salad with baby spinach, olives, homemade dressing (EVOO, balsamic vinegar and spices), and tomatoes
Dinner:  We actually had our bi-weekly Life Group, where we share a meal together and do bible study, and my friend who cooked the main meal made compliant salsa chicken for us!  Everyone else was eating chips & queso, making tacos with tortillas, cheese & sour cream…and don’t even get me started on the 3 cakes that were brought!  But Hubs and I brought compliant guacamole (organic Wholly Guacamole from Costco) and spinach to make this beautiful salad!  Some of our friends even said, ‘That looks really good!  I could do that!  But I couldn’t skip the cake!’ 🙂  It honestly, seriously, was NOT hard to be around the food and fill myself up on this gorgeous and delicious plate of yumminess!

Whole 30 Day 4, Thursday – Journal Entry:  Today I’m feeling very tired and I just starting getting a headache around noon.  However, Kinney Kat woke us up at 1:30am this morning and kept us up until 3am, so that might have something to do with it.  Also allergies are flaring up today, sniffles, sneezing and itchy throat & eyes.  (it rained last night)  Yesterday I felt pretty good, except upset tummy was pretty upset in the morning after breakfast for quite a while, (personal time again, but let’s just say my digestive system had a reaction) but I felt better after.  Was super tired last night, like ready for bed at 9pm!
Overall, another pretty good day.  The tummy stuff was a bummer, but very short lived.  Still no major ‘hangover’ feeling, and no major cravings either.  Didn’t want to kill anything!  Feeling really great about this decision!

img1452298479350

Breakfast: Eggs, compliant bacon (Penderson’s) with sauteed baby spinach, blueberries and cherries, and BLACK coffee.
Lunch:  Yesterday I made this in the crock pot because my mom (who lives with us) and RiDogg (who had another theatre rehearsal and couldn’t go to Life Group) needed dinner!  So Hubs & I had it for lunch.  It’s the easiest recipe ever and the most delicious sweet potatoes ever! Crock Pot Rotisserie Chicken & ‘Baked’ Sweet Potatoes.  Our slow cooker wasn’t quite deep enough, so I had to improvise; but hey, it worked.
Dinner:  We had a grand plan to make cabbage rolls, but then our beef didn’t thaw, and I had to get to a meeting…which what at a popular pizza restaurant.  I called ahead and made sure they had something compliant, so I ordered a ‘Build Your Own Salad’ with spring mix, tomatoes, green & red bell peppers, olives, mushrooms, grilled chicken and olive oil & vinegar on the side.  It was pricey, but good.

Okey dokey, that about sums up the first 4 days.  I really have to say that the Whole30, so far, has not been hard at all.  I’m home all day, steps away from the kitchen, with a son eating goldfish and cookie butter in front me, and I’m good.  I think because there is a set completion date I’m able to stick to my guns easier than ever before.  Knowing that it’s ‘just 30 days’ allows me to say to myself, “I can do this!” and really mean it!  Of course, my hope is that after 30 days I feel so amazing that another 30 days will be a breeze too!

My biggest challenges so far are 1) I never eat big meals, so eating enough in one meal to hold me over until the next has been hard.  I may have to allow myself to snack at least once a day because it can be kind of uncomfortable. and 2) it takes SO MUCH TIME!  The prepping, cooking and cleaning for every meal is definitely substantial.  Hubs and I are already planning for more of a ‘lazy’ menu next week to give us a break.

 

Leave a Reply

