Live Simply.

My New Year’s Theme for 2016 – Live Simply.

img1451573481799

Now, if I’m truly following my own advice I should just leave it at that…simple…but I’m me, so I can’t.  Living Simply, to me, means focusing on these few things and seeing where life leads me from there.

Laugh Lots.  I want to surround myself with people who make me smile.  Who bring positivity in my live.  #nomorehaters  My best friends are the ones who make me laugh!  I always tell my husband I want us to be more like sitcom couples, they have fun poking and never take each other too seriously…at least not for long.  If I could ask for ONE thing in my marriage it would be that we laugh together every single day.  Luckily, with my kiddos ,there is no shortage of giggling; but we’ll try to kick it up a notch in 2016!  Laugh On!

Love Freely.  “What others do with your love is on them, not you.  All you can do is make the offering.” ~Rick Hanson.  Love others without expecting to be loved in return.  Love others without expecting them to fill a void.  Love because it’s right.  Love because it feels good.  Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.  This is the first and greatest commandment.  And then second is like it:  Love our neighbor as yourself.” ~Matthew 22:36-39 .

Give Generously.  I need to remember that giving does not only occur with dollar signs attached.  I want to be more generous of my time and talents this year, as well as my finances.  (and not only to my son’s extracurricular activities, if you know what I mean!)

Be Thankful.  There is ALWAYS something to be thankful for.  I vow to start every morning a thanking God for another precious day and end every day focused being grateful for the MANY things I have in my life to be thankful for.  “When you arise in the morning, think of what a precious privilege it is to be alive, to breathe, to think, to enjoy, to love.” ~Marcus Aurelius.  It is so easy to get caught up in all of the things we do NOT have that we forget how much we DO have.  In 2016, especially as I embark upon living simply, I want to stay focused on how my cup is overflowing already and to always remember, it is not happy people who are thankful; it is thankful people who are happy.

Care Deeply.  To me, this means ‘don’t be afraid to get hurt’.  I want to care about myself and my goals so deeply that I’m not afraid to fail.  I want to care about my passions so deeply that I’m not afraid if others like them, because I do. I want to care about my friends so deeply that I will trust them completely.  I no longer want to be careful, but care-FULL!

Dream Big.  Oh yeah, baby!  This one gets me excited!  This is MY year!  I’ve been trying to uncover what my ‘dream’ is for years and now I think I’ve finally got it!  Or maybe I’m just finally admitting it?  My dreams this year are to lose 75 pounds.  That’s right!  Is that considered dreaming small, since that’s my ultimate goal?  *wink*  I WANT to stay at home with my kiddos!  Homeschooling my 5th grader and enjoying every priceless moment with my baby girl.  We’re also looking at moving to another city and finding my dream home, which is nowhere near big, and not at all what I thought I wanted 5, 10, 15 years ago.  All while maintaining a sensible work from home schedule.  I said dream BIG!

Embrace Your Season.  2015 was my season to have a newborn.  My season to eat what I wanted ‘because I was breastfeeding’.  A season of little sleep.  A season of little ‘me time’.  I felt lost, after our big dream of having another child was finally…FINALLY…fulfilled I wondered, ‘What’s next?”  That season of my life is now over, and that’s okay.  I feel ready to embark on the next chapter and to truly wrap my arms around what is coming next for us.  “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven.” ~Ecclesiastes 3:1.

Leave the rest to God.

Leave a Reply

